Thursday, March 17, 2016

Planetary Classifications: Civilization Grades

The Hexuba galaxy is constantly yielding new worlds to explore,--including many that have been long lost and rediscovered. To facilitate classification among stellar cartographers , seven categories of planetary bodies have been established, according to the level of civilized settlements found there. They include:
1. ALPHA - Civilizations with advanced technology, interstellar travel
2. BETA - Industrialized societies but no space travel beyond the home system
3. GAMMA - Primitive (stone age to medieval)
4. DELTA -  This category is left purposefully undefined, for newly discovered worlds until they're classified
5. EPSILON -  Cybernetic/computerized worlds or completely non-biological
6. ZETA - Dead worlds, once habitable but life has been extinguished
7. OMEGA - Ruined worlds, where previous ruling civilization has given way to barbarism
None of these categories are meant to convey economic, political, religious, or other such societal aspects. They're merely standards selected to help space travelers assess whether they could end up marooned planetside (taking into account the possibility of hostile encounters) or find adequate technology to sustain their operations (i.e., "Get us off this blasted rock!").

No comments:

Post a Comment